The Leitrim Guardian has been published annually since Christmas 1968. It is Ireland's only County Magazine and is produced by a voluntary committee.  Leitrim represents a microcosm of life in Ireland, from the very rural to the cosmopolitan. Over many years our beautiful county has attracted a very diverse mix of peoples, amongst them artists, writers, musicians, actors, organic growers, healers etc., many who have chosen to live here as a retreat from the hustle and bustle of busier climes; all bringing a unique and special colour to the county, and mixing seamlessly with the long established rural community.

Held within the pages of each edition of this unique magazine is a sense of the wealth of the diverse talent, entrepreneurship, and honest to goodness neighbourliness, that exists within the county. You will find stories, musings, photographs and poems, from professionals and amateurs alike, depicting our rich and colourful history, and mirroring the sorrows and joys felt during past and present times. These articles illustrate the trojan work being carried out by various individuals and groups working tirelessly throughout the county for the betterment of others. They portray the results of a community consisting of a great mixture of long settled, and newly arrived people, who now carry the flag of Leitrim forward to the future with great pride.

Dr Bláithín Gallagher



The Leitrim Guardian 2019
Leitrim’s Annual Publication No 51

Editor: Dr Bláithín Gallagher, Creevelea,  Drumkeeran
E mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Buy Current Issue

Leitrim Guardian 2019Our current issue - Leitrim Guardian 2019 - is available to buy online now via Paypal. It is not necessary to have a Paypal account as credit/debit cards are also accepted.
Please ensure to select your correct delivery destination below. 

Price (inc. Post/Packing)

See Past Issues

Our past editions offer a window into a wealth of stories, features and images from years gone by. Each year the magazine reviews the county's cultural, social and sporting activities and presents the annual Leitrim Person of the Year award. Read More


See Current Issue

Leitrim Guardian 2019 is the 51st edition of the Leitrim Guardian. This magazine provides an annual snapshot of life in Leitrim.  Read More

Leitrim Guardian 2019